Take The Square

Eine 3-Kanal-Videoinstallation von Oliver Ressler

89 min. (gesamt), HD, AT 2012

Die 2011 aufgekommenen Platzbesetzungsbewegungen und die Occupy Bewegung können als eine Reaktion von Menschen gesehen werden, die sich gegen die massive Zunahme gesellschaftlicher Ungleichheiten und den Abbau von Demokratie in Zeiten der globalen Finanz- und Wirtschaftskrise zur Wehr setzen. Die Platzbesetzungsbewegungen sind nicht-hierarchisch strukturiert, sie wenden sich gegen jede Art der Repräsentation; ihre Aktivitäten werden auf direkt-demokratische Weise bestimmt. Die Besetzung von öffentlichen Plätzen dient dabei als Katalysator für die Herausbildung von Demonstrationen, Generalstreiks, Versammlungen und Arbeitsgruppen zu unterschiedlichen Schwerpunkten. Erfolgreiche Platzbesetzungen an einem Ort inspirieren oftmals Besetzungen in anderen Städten, ohne dass diese in einem linearen Verhältnis zueinander stehen.

“Take The Square”. Installation view: “Resistance”, Manif d’art 7 – The Québec City biennial, Québec, 2014

Die 3-Kanal Videoinstallation „Take The Square“ (Besetzt den Platz) basiert auf Gesprächsrunden, die mit Aktivist_innen von 15M in Madrid, der Syntagma-Platz-Bewegung in Athen und Occupy Wall Street in New York geführt und gefilmt wurden. In Anlehnung an die bestehenden Arbeitsgruppen der Protestbewegungen diskutieren jeweils vier bis sechs Aktivist_innen als Gruppe miteinander. In den Gesprächen geht es um Fragen der Organisierung, horizontale Entscheidungsfindungsprozesse, die Bedeutung und Funktion von Besetzungen öffentlicher Räume und wie gesellschaftlicher Wandel ablaufen kann. Gedreht wurde im Frühling 2012 an jenen Plätzen, die von den Platzbesetzungsbewegungen für Versammlungen und Arbeitsgruppen benutzt werden: Am Plaza de Pontejos, einem ruhigen Platz in unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft zum zentralen Puerta del Sol in Madrid; am Plaza de la Corrala, einem Treffpunkt der Nachbarschaftsversammlung von Lavapiès in Madrid; am Syntagma-Platz, dem zentralen Versammlungs- und Demonstrationsplatz vor dem Parlament in Athen; und im Central Park in New York, wo Occupy Wall Street das „Spring Awakening 2012“ abhielt.

“Take The Square”. Installation view: “Hors Pistes – Une autre mouvement des images: L’art de la révolte”, Centre Pompidou, Paris, 2016

In der insgesamt 88 Min. langen Videoinstallation werden diese Gespräche zwischen Aktivist_innen aus drei für die Bewegung zentralen Städten zusammengefügt. „Für mich sind Respekt und Inklusion die sehr mächtigen Mittel, mit denen wir unsere Macht horizontal ausbauen und wiedererlangen, ohne die Notwendigkeit von jemandem, der uns repräsentiert,“ sagt Ayelén von der Kollektiven Nachdenk-Arbeitsgruppe in Madrid. Diese Ablehnung der Repräsentation schließt zumeist auch die Parlamente ein; Menschen sollen politisiert und eingeladen werden, ihr Schicksal selber in die Hand zu nehmen. Babis Magoulas von der Besetzungsbewegung in Athen meint: „Es ist der politische Prozess, aus dem der Mensch hervorgeht, der sich über das Gemeingut Gedanken macht, der partizipiert, der die Politik nicht den ‚Experten’ überlässt, seien sie nun Syndikate oder politische Parteien. Und direkte Demokratie wurde nicht verhängt, sie wurde als einzige Form zusammenzukommen angewandt. Wäre das nicht horizontal verlaufen, hätte es keine Bedeutung.“ Für Jen Waller von Occupy Wall Street entsteht dabei „die erste Bürgerbewegung, die die herrschende Klasse zum Feind erklärt hat“.

„Take The Square“ versucht einen Beitrag zu leisten, das organisatorische Wissen der Bewegungen zu verbreiten und Übersetzungsvorgänge zwischen den Plätzen in Gang zu bringen.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is Take_The_Square_Reina_Sofia_74-1024x683.jpg
“Take The Square”. Installation view: “Playgrounds”, Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofía, Madrid, 2014

Film version of „Take the Square“:

“Take The Square”, 89 min., HD, AT 2012
“Take The Square” – Madrid, still
“Take The Square” – New York, still

Regie und Produzent: Oliver Ressler
Ausführender Produzent: Rudolf Gottsberger | studioROT
Kamera: Thomas Parb, Rudolf Gottsberger
Schnitt: Oliver Ressler
Sounddesign, Tonmischung und Farbkorrektur: Rudolf Gottsberger
Teilnehmer_innen der Nachbarschaftsversammlung von Lavapiés in Madrid: Adolfo Estalella, Lucía Gutiérrez, Ernesto García López, Héctor Pojomovsky, Martha Viniegra
Teilnehmer_innen der Kollektiven Nachdenk-Arbeitsgruppe in Madrid: Amador, Álvaro, Ayelén, David, Kiara, Rodrigo
Teilnehmer_innen der Diskussionsgruppe am Syntagma Platz in Athen: Christos Giovanopoulos, Leonidas Kaportsis, Stasa Kotara, Babis Magoulas, Spyros Niakas, Reggina Zervou
Teilnehmer_innen der Diskussionsgruppe im Central Park in New York: Nicole Carty, Austin Guest, George Machado, Jen Waller

Teilnehmer_innen am Workshop in New York: Nicole Carty, Austin Guest, Zak Solomon, Danny Valdes
Übersetzungen für englische Untertitel: Cora Sueldo, Héctor Pojomovsky, Martha Viniegra, Giannis Papadimitriou, Alexandros Papageorgiou
Übersetzung für deutsche Untertitel: Colette Schmidt
Produktionsassistenz: Katarzyna Winiecka und Rafael Sánchez Mateos (Madrid), Giannis Papadimitriou (Athen)
Besonderer Dank gilt Maren Richter (künstlerische Direktorin der REGIONALE12), Vasilis Alexakis, Dario Azzellini, Enrique García Camarero, Raquel Garcia Carrillo, Beka Economopoulos, Marcelo Expósito, Pavlos Hatzopoulos, Elisabeth Lorenzi, Carlos Motta, Alan W. Moore, Marina Sitrin, Aitor Tinoco i Girona, Nato Thompson
Förderungen: REGIONALE12, Cine Art

Installations, videos and projects in public space

by Oliver Ressler

Take The Square


A 3-channel video installation by Oliver Ressler

The emergence of the movements of the squares and the Occupy movement in 2011 can be seen as a reaction by people who opposed and began to fight the massive increase in social inequality and the dismantling of democracy in times of global financial and economic crisis. The movements of the squares are non-hierarchical and reject representation; direct democracy shapes their activities. The occupation of public places serves as a catalyst to develop demonstrations, general strikes, meetings and working groups on different focal points. Successful site occupancies in one place often inspire occupations in other cities, without a linear relationship.

The 3-channel video installation “Take The Square” is based on discussions conducted with activists from 15M in Madrid, the Syntagma Square movement in Athens and Occupy Wall Street in New York. Re-enacting the format of the working groups of the protest movements, four to six activists discuss with each other as a group in front of a camera. The discussions cover issues of organization, horizontal decision-making processes, the importance and function of occupying public spaces and how social change can occur. The films were shot in the spring of 2012 in those places used by the movements of the squares for meetings and working groups: the Plaza de Pontejos, a quiet square in the immediate vicinity of the central Puerta del Sol in Madrid; at Plaza de la Corrala, a meeting place for the neighborhood assemblies of Lavapiès in Madrid; in Syntagma Square, the central assembly and demonstration point in front of the Parliament in Athens; and in Central Park in New York, where Occupy Wall Street held the “Spring Awakening 2012”.

The 88-minute video installation brings together activists from three cities central to the movement. “I consider inclusiveness and respect used as a means to build horizontality and recover our power without the need to have somebody representing us very powerful,“ says Ayelén from the Collective Thinking Work Group in Madrid. This rejection of representation also generally includes the parliaments; people should be politicized and invited to take their fate into their own hands. Babis Magoulas of the square movement in Athens says: “It’s the political process, the one that creates the man who is concerned with the commons, who participates and doesn’t allow the political to be taken over by the ‘experts’ whether they are syndicates or political parties. That’s why I’m saying it’s big. And direct democracy was not imposed; it was applied as the only way to convene. If it wasn’t horizontal, it would have had no meaning.” For Jen Waller of Occupy Wall Street, this has created, “the first people’s movement in this country that has called out the ruling class as the enemy.”

“Take The Square” is trying to contribute to spreading the organizational knowledge of the movements and translate the processes between these places in transition.

Director and producer: Oliver Ressler
Executive producer: Rudolf Gottsberger | studioROT
Camera: Thomas Parb, Rudolf Gottsberger
Film editor: Oliver Ressler
Sound design, mix and color correction: Rudolf Gottsberger
Participants of the Popular Assembly of Lavapiés in Madrid: Adolfo Estalella, Lucía Gutiérrez, Ernesto García López, Héctor Pojomovsky, Martha Viniegra
Participants of the Collective Thinking Work Group in Madrid: Amador, Álvaro, Ayelén, David, Kiara, Rodrigo
Participants of the discussion group at Syntagma Square in Athens: Christos Giovanopoulos, Leonidas Kaportsis, Stasa Kotara, Babis Magoulas, Spyros Niakas, Reggina Zervou
Participants of the discussion group in Central Park in New York: Nicole Carty, Austin Guest, George Machado, Jen Waller
Participants in the workshop in New York: Nicole Carty, Austin Guest, Zak Solomon, Danny Valdes
Translations for English subtitles: Cora Sueldo, Héctor Pojomovsky, Martha Viniegra, Giannis Papadimitriou, Alexandros Papageorgiou
Translation for German subtitles: Colette Schmidt
Production assistance: Katarzyna Winiecka and Rafael Sánchez Mateos (Madrid), Giannis Papadimitriou (Athens), Maren Richter (New York)
Take The Square was commissioned by REGIONALE12.
Special thanks to Maren Richter (artistic director of REGIONALE12), Vasilis Alexakis, Dario Azzellini, Enrique García Camarero, Raquel Garcia Carrillo, Beka Economopoulos, Marcelo Expósito, Pavlos Hatzopoulos, Elisabeth Lorenzi, Carlos Motta, Alan W. Moore, Marina Sitrin, Aitor Tinoco i Girona, Nato Thompson

Get the Flash Player to see the wordTube Media Player.

4-min excerpt from the video installation (Athens)