The Plundering

Ein Film von Oliver Ressler

40 min., HD, AT/GE/UK 2013

„Man kann von der „Plünderung“ Georgiens reden. Öffentliches Eigentum, das den gemeinsamen Bedürfnissen der Gesellschaft dienen sollte, wurde zum Eigentum Einzelner. Wäre das Projekt erfolgreich gewesen, könnten die Bürger_innen ihren Park jetzt nicht mehr nutzen.“
Mikheil Svanidze, „The Plundering“

“The Plundering”. Installation view: “The Plundering” (solo show), Lentos Kunstmuseum, Linz, 2014
“The Plundering”. Installation view: “The Plundering” (solo show), Lentos Kunstmuseum, Linz, 2014

Extreme Privatisierungen können nur dort stattfinden, wo Menschen unter großem Druck stehen – so wie während des Übergangs der ehemaligen Sowjetrepubliken zur Unabhängigkeit und zum Kapitalismus. Seit der Rosenrevolution 2003 findet in der früheren Sowjetrepublik Georgien solch ein radikaler Umbruch statt. Präsident Micheil Saakaschwili setzte eines der extremsten neoliberalen Projekte der Welt um. In der Rangliste „Ease of Doing Business“ der Weltbank, die jährlich die wirtschaftliche Wettbewerbsfähigkeit/Wirtschaftsfreundlichkeit von Staaten untersucht, liegt Georgien heute auf Platz 9 von 185 Staaten. Während der „Gemeinnutzen, der in den 70 Jahren des kommunistischen Regimes angehäuft wurde“ (Rusudan Mirzikashvili, „The Plundering“) verschleudert wird, trieb die instabile Situation in einer radikalen freien Marktwirtschaft und die Beseitigung der meisten sozialen Sicherheitsnetze den Großteil der georgischen Bevölkerung in noch nicht erlebte, tiefe Armut.

“The Plundering”, still

Der Film „The Plundering“ (Die Plünderung) konzentriert sich auf vier Fälle aggressiver Privatisierung von Staatseigentum in Tiflis. In Interviews wird die Privatisierung der Wasserversorgung von Tiflis sowie des beliebten Marktes Dezerter Bazaar diskutiert. Eine junge soziale Bewegung verhinderte den versuchten Verkauf der Nationalen Wissenschaftsbibliothek sowie die Zerstörung und den Umbau des historischen Gudiaschwili-Platzes im Zentrum Tiflis‘ zu einem Einkaufszentrum.

„Objekte mit strategischer Bedeutung wurden zum Profit einiger Regierungsnaher verkauft“, beschreibt Levan Asabashvili die systematische Korruption im Film. Die Käufer_innen verstecken sich dabei meist hinter Offshore-Unternehmen.

“The Plundering”, 40 min., HD, AT/GE/GB 2013
„The Plundering“, still

Regisseur und Produzent: Oliver Ressler
Kamera: Niko Tarielashvili
Tonaufnahme und Schnitt: Oliver Ressler
Sound-Design, Mischung und Farbkorrektur: Rudolf Gottsberger
Musik: Erekle Deisadze & Vinda Folio: Agurit Khelshi
Gesprächspartner_innen: Levan Asabashvili, Ani Chankotadze, Giorgi Chubinidze, Alexandre Elisashvili, Nino Gujaraidze, Lasha Kharazi, Zurab Kukuladze, Rusudan Mirzikashvili, Mikheil Svanidze
Übersetzung: Soso Chauchidze
Organisation und Produktionsassistenz: Data Chigholashvili, Soso Chauchidze, Nini Palavandishvili, Ana Ramazashvili, Katharina Tchelidze
Vielen Dank an Nini Palavandishvili, Data Chigholashvili, Katerina Gregos, Luigi Fassi
Der Film wurde im Mai 2013 im georgischen Tiflis aufgenommen im Rahmen des GeoAIR Residency Program im Auftrag des steirischer herbst festival, Graz und Art Sheffield 2013, mit der Unterstützung des Otto Mauer Fonds und des BMUKK.

Installations, videos and projects in public space


by Oliver Ressler

The Plundering

,

A film by Oliver Ressler, 40 min, 2013

“We can talk about the ‘plundering’ of Georgia. Public property, which in fact should serve the common needs of society, has become the property of individuals. For example, if that project became successful, the citizens now using this park would not be able to use it.” – Mikheil Svanidze, The Plundering

Extreme levels of privatization can only be carried out under conditions where people are under severe pressure, as in the transformation of former Soviet republics towards independence and capitalism. Since the Rose Revolution in 2003, the former Soviet republic Georgia under went such a radical transformation. President Mikheil Saakashvili implemented one of the most extreme neoliberal projects in the world. Today, Georgia is 9th of 185 states in the World Bank ranking “Ease of Doing Business”. While the “common good accumulated within the communist regime during 70 years of its existence” (Rusudan Mirzikashvili, The Plundering) is being sold off, the unstable situation in a radical, free-market economy and the liquidation of most social safety nets drove most Georgian residents into un-experienced levels of poverty.

The film The Plundering focuses on four cases of aggressive, state-property privatization policies in Tbilisi. Through interviews, it discusses the privatization of the water system in Tbilisi and of Tbilisi’s popular market, the Dezerter Bazaar. A newly emerging movement prevented the attempted sell-off of the National Scientific Library, and the destruction and conversion of the historical Gudiashvili Square in Tbilisi’s city center into a shopping mall.

“Objects of strategic importance were sold to the benefit of some people close to the government”, Levan Asabashvili describes these processes of systemic corruption in the film. Usually the purchasers are hiding behind companies registered offshore.

Director and producer: Oliver Ressler
Camera: Niko Tarielashvili
Sound recording and film editing: Oliver Ressler
Sound design, mix and color correction: Rudolf Gottsberger
Music: Erekle Deisadze & Vinda Folio: Agurit Khelshi
Interviewees: Levan Asabashvili, Ani Chankotadze, Giorgi Chubinidze, Alexandre Elisashvili, Nino Gujaraidze, Lasha Kharazi, Zurab Kukuladze, Rusudan Mirzikashvili, Mikheil Svanidze
Translation: Soso Chauchidze
Organization and production assistance: Data Chigholashvili, Soso Chauchidze, Nini Palavandishvili, Ana Ramazashvili, Katharina Tchelidze
Special thanks to Nini Palavandishvili, Data Chigholashvili, Katerina Gregos, Luigi Fassi

The film was recorded in May 2013 in Tbilisi, Georgia in the framework of the GeoAIR Residency Program, commissioned by steirischer herbst festival, Graz and Art Sheffield 2013, supported by Otto Mauer Fonds and BMUKK.

Get the Flash Player to see the wordTube Media Player.

6-min excerpts from the film